Marineland Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Marineland
Shop Advanced Aquarium Lighting or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Marineland Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Marineland.

Marineland Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.

Same great Reef Capable LED Lighting System, now with a fully integrated timer. With the new timer, you can control when the 460nm blue and 10,000K white LEDs turn on and off with the push of a button. You can also design your own timed sequence to give your tank the right light at the right time. Also included in this upgrade is a new dispersion lens over the blue LEDs which provides a better mix of light.  NEW integrated timer. Slim, stylized lighting profile with daylight and lunar settings. Powered by 1 watt LED’s  Energy efficient system that doesn’t require any bulb replacement. Mimics underwater “shimmer” effect of natural sunlight.  For a more information on all of our LED offerings, please click below:Marineland LED Flip Book 
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Review 1 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is definitely bright

PostedJune 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
slcorner
from Moores Hill, Indiana
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
My african cichlids have never looked so brilliant! I can see all their shimmering colors because of this led lighting system. At night, I switch over to blue and, Wow, the whole room glows a beautiful blue. I've only had this light for a week now, but so far I can't brag on it enough. Thank you, Marineland.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got it the day it caome out!!! and still smilling every time I look at my tank.

PostedMay 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
osj3
from Greensboro NC
Aquarium Type:Both
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I got the 48 inch light system and I love it. Works very well. Its very bright. does well with my corals too. Mt power bill got cut down by $40 from using VHO and MH and fans to cool them all down. The shimmer is very nice the blues are great. And the price point is perfect. You dont have to be rich to be able to get them. They cover very will but I do want to get one more because of the depth of my tank. I am big fan of the LEDS so much so I got the double brights for my daughrers 10 gallon tank. Marineland you have a winner with this one and a true fan!!!!
Thanks
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
14of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not even 4 months old and switch is pooched

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
chuck1975
from hamilton ontario
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
wont keep any corals lit right, barely do mushrooms and or softies......
switch in the unit is their new design and wont work after 4 months ......locked up inside ( and its got glass under it so no splash or moisture to get at the light )
barely enough light off these 1 w leds to light a 10gallon tank and keep monti, mushrooms, and softies alive , would work as a fowler light but thats about it...... water quality is now an issue as its on my refugium setup to see if it would keep corals alive ...... the main tank its feeding is under home made led pod running 3 and 5 watt leds and has noooo issue with the mother corals in the refugium setup that this light is feeding........ should have not wasted my money and built my own
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not enough light for corals.

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Review4U
Switched to this system from a power compact lighting system thinking I would save money by not having to replace the pc bulbs regularly.
Was told the led system would be enough light to sustain and grow corals. Since I have had this light all of my corals have died except one sitting right at the top of my tank on the live rock.
Went to the store that sold me the product and as would be expected they told me there was not problem with the light and sold me food for the corals.
I have now lost the money invested in corals as well as this light. I am now looking for a new light.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Equestrian
from Washington
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
I had won a MACNA reef capable LED, but sadly have no reef tank for it (as I am in high school and don't want to leave my parents with any more pets when I'm in college). Instead, its on my 30 gallon Malawi African Cichlid tank, which I was stunned when I saw the brilliance of the LED. Looks even better than most doctor's office tanks. The light against the color of them, its like WOW. Amazing. Would've even purchased an LED lighting system eventually. Only downside to it is the algae growth because of the sunlight-like light. Even a local exotic bird store sells Bonsai and has some reef capable fixtures lighting those. I highly recommend this lighting system or any other products from Marineland.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fixture

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jackman
from San Antonio, Texas
Aquarium Type:Both
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I was apprehensive at first to purchase LED lighting for my reef aquarium but I took the chance and it have been very happy with the fixture. All my fish and corals have been very happy. Corals are growling well at all levels of the tank. My only wish for this unit is to have separate control over the white and blue LED's to put each on timers but I have gotten used to manually switching the lights. I also found that by dropping the water level in the tank by about 1", I get great lighting texture in the tank similar to other high powered lighting fixtures. Definitely a great addition!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, but it is hard to appreciate if you use a timer for your lights.

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
zreed
from Michigan
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
I LOVE this light. Since I have timers I wish you could find a way to have the blue light on at night. Built in timer?
This light is very nice. VERY bright and "Natural" light look.
The blue light looks amazing at night. This light is hard to appreciate with a timer though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the light, but worry it will break again. It is fragile.

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
DukeShore
from Lakefield, ontario
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
First off, I agree that customer service has been pretty good with my LED light - it was replaced after 6 months. My worry is that it will break again. This was a pretty big investment for me and I love my 55 g. aquarium but, I cannot afford to lose plants again, if the light breaks a second time. I always wanted a moonlight for my aquarium and that part is awesome. I think there are many improvements that need to be made.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Broke after two months.

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
WaterMan
from Miami, FL
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
Installed the 48" model on a deep 90 gallon salt water tank.
I only have soft corals but the corals love the light.
Aesthetic of tank greatly improved over my subcompacts due to shimmering effect of the LED's.
Lights failed after just two months of operation.
At first the lights would turn off and on but completely failed about an hour later.
Hope to resolve fault quickly because I really like the light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great light

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
DannyFresno
from Fresno, CA
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
I really like the light, my only wish is that it would be possible to have the nightlight (blue lighting) feature able to be set on an independent time. The switch has three positions so it's impossible to have the nightlight come on automatically. I understand that this means all of the LED lights in the unit must be on the same wire. Maybe on future ones this could be wired separately, giving two plugs for the unit but the ability to have an automatic night-time light.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs seprate switch

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alphamale
from El paso, TX
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I really like the light system. I have 2 of the reef capable LED light sets 36-48 in. I got them on my 260 reef tank. The only problem I have had is the switch went out on one of my lights. I called Marineland and they sent me another one they handled it great. I noticed on the one they sent me they changed the way the power wire connects this was a good move as on my other light there seems to be a short. But with there customer service I think they will handle it just fine. The corals in my tank seem to love the light. I plan on buying 4 more to completly cover the tank. I just wish they would but the blues on a different cord so I could use with a timer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbeatable

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
punky
from New Bedford
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I bought this light in the 24, 36 in November for my 55 gallon tall, my mushrooms sought shade my anemone has not moved the growth in my tank made it so i needed to get a larger tank... now here is the kicker.. i ordered another light in the same size because my tank is now a 48 long to 2 of the 24's will work i also went to my LFS and bought a marineland c-350 GREAT QUALITY ill review that next.. When i took my light off the old tank i had 3 LED's in a row out so i called marineland and they asked my address and the sn on the light and thats it they are sending me a new one... i Told the guy this made me feel so much better about the products i bought last night... give this light and marineland a shot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice light tank looks real good

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
comjc
from council bluffs
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I got this light a month back love the light corals love one thing the leds started going out. Three are out now can this get fixed or anybody know where I can take it?
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great light for the price but has i issue

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
postie1686
from MN
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I have had my light for about 5 months now. the first 3 it lived in the box while i was getting everything setup. the light had been on my tank for about a month when i noticed that there were 2 sections of 4 led's that no longer light up. other then that the light is great stays cool takes up very little room. all my corals love it. and the shimmer you get from led lighting is great!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

broke

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
jaded
from martins ferry ohiio
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
first id like to say the lighting is great all my corals(soft, sps and lps) love it and my ritteri migrated from under the t5ho to under this. but after only 4.5 month i already need to send it in because 4 of the led don't work. and i wish they would make a light that would fit an aquarium longer than 48" i know it adjust but it doesnt give the light to everywhere. i have 180g reef aquarium and the ends r kinda dim.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from MarinelandMarketingAugust 10, 2011
Sorry to hear that, they are going to replace your light free of charge correct? Please let me know if that's not the case. We also have a light that is 48-60 inches.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Power Supply

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Virgil
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
The lights are awesome, but I had unplugged them and when I went to go turn them back on, nothing came on. We had tried all different plug ins and still nothing, then my wife had found a plug that could fit it and the turned on instantly. This was only the second time I had ever used the lights since I had bought them. The power supply had gone out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from MarinelandMarketingAugust 10, 2011
Sorry to hear that, please give us a call so we can arrange to send you out a replacement light free of charge. 800.322.1266
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Light is okay for soft corals. SPS, LPS FORGET IT!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
SPSClownNick
from Blaine, MN
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I bought this light 3 months ago for my reef aquarium. It has done an okay job with soft corals. My xenia has changed shape since I put it in the tank, it is reaching out more. This light will not work with any SPS corals! Any acans will not work with the light either. For a softie tank, the coral can survive but looses a lot of color. My frogspawn went from green to brownish in 2 months.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Reef Capable LED Lighting System NOW with Integrated Timer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I expected, but could use seperate circuit for bluelights.

PostedJune 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from NY
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I have a 90 gallon reef tank, 48" lighting with polyp,mushroom coral and sponges. I will add clams and will try more exotic coral.
LED lighting and shimmer effect looks great. What I expected.
Very little heat, enough lighting for coral and no need to change lighting for 50k hours. Fantastiic.
The only problem I had was I had to send back 2 lighting units because of a few faulty LED lights. But Marineland handled it well and I have a 48" unit that has been perfect for months.
I'm sure that these LED units will keep getting better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.