Marineland Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Marineland
Shop Filters and Skimmers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Marineland C-Series Canister Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Marineland.

Marineland C-Series Canister Filters

The revolutionary design of the new Marineland Multi-Stage C-Series Canister Filter forces water to pass through the filter media trays, and not around them. With virtually no bypass, and a three-stage filtration process, only sparkling-clean water can re-circulate into your tank - regardless of size or type of aquarium. The key to this process is our special internal design and three-stage approach that passes the water through a series of specialized filter media. It's a design that delivers the best available technology in mechanical, chemical and biological filtration… and it's a design that is unmatched for capturing particulates.
Average Customer Rating:
3.359 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
12
22 out of 39(56%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for C-Series Canister Filters
Review 1 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Canister Filter

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
WDD5733
from Omaha, NE, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
Just replaced my old Filter with the new Multi-Stage Canister C-360. It's so quite and I had NO problem setting it up. I had to cut the tubing a little so it would fit right, but my tank is SO clear and the only sound you hear is the air pump.. Great Canister filter..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Filet
from Palos, IL
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
Excellent canister, no water bypass meaning everything goes through the filter media, not around it. Very easy to set up, instructions are clear, just make sure to take your time while cutting your hoses to ensure proper startup. The big media trays are a big plus. Great customer service here at Marineland as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

reliable and effective

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
cichlidkeepertool
from kansas city missouri
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
iv waited awhile to write this review i bought a c-530 over a year and a half ago and really put it through its paces. the only bad i can find is what also makes the c-530 so good...its heavy! it holds a lot of filter media and moves a lot of water with no bypass very nice iv since replaced all my other cannister filters from marinlands competitors with a c-360 and a c-160 iv been keeping aquariums since the 80's and these are a blessing with ease of cleaning to how they stabalize your water and keep it clean im happy my tanks are crystal clear and my fish are happy way to go marineland!..and the leaking issue from a few years ago is resolved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this filter C220

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhema01
from Rockland, Maine
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
I purchased this Canister filter after losing most of my fish... I have 55 gal tank. with a power filter on back.. it just could not handle this tank size, so after researching online about canister filters, I found that this one showed the most promising results, so I purchased the Marineland C220 and within a week my tank was balanced, and water quality has been at PH 7.8 to 8.0 Nitrite 0 ppm, Nitrate is 0 ppm, Ammonia is 0 ppm, which the water Ammonia was 5.0 a week before.. I would recommend this canister filter to everyone... I have had no issues with it at all.. as long as you make sure the hoses are tight. you should not have any leakage problems... I give this an 5 Star Plus rating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with results

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
jdorris
from Riverside CA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I've gone through a number of canister filters over the years and i have never been satisfied with the quality of the products. After reading a few reviews and watching the videos available on the C-360 I decided this was the filter to try. It works great. I was having problems clearing up my water after a pump failure. This filter cleared it in one day and it has been crystal clear ever since. The one feature of this filter I think puts it a step above the rest is there is no possible way for water to bypass the filtration system. Plus the flow is excellent. I connected this to two bio wheels along with the supplied output tube. I have happy fish again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Filter

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
JT82
from Holland, PA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
This filter keeps the water crystal clear. water flow is great and plants and fish are flourishing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland C530,the Beast.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
John1968
from Montreal, QC, Canada
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I would like to give a big thank you to Marineland for their great customer service and helping me fix my problem with the C530 canister filter. This canister is a beast, so much flow I was impressed right when I plugged it in. I’m using many different kinds of canisters (FX5s and Rena XPs) all I have to say this thing is very powerful, looks like it might be more powerful than the mighty FX5,WOW.All media comes with it to immediately start using it. Great job Marineland, we need more companies like you. I’m now running 2 (C-530s) on my 180 gallon Tropheus tank with incredible water movement and clarity. Thank you again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

gassett leaks on top of canaster

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
ed2fay
from Fayetteville, NC, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
After several uses the gasket on top of my canister started to leak. I called customer serviceand they sent me a new gasket and some silicon sealer. I used it and it worked for several uses but has started to leak again. This problem gets old after while
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marineland Multi-Stage C220 Series Canister Filter.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
N9UDT
from High Desert, Victorville, CA 92395
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
I love this filter! I picked this one after hours of doing product comparisons. Price was a big factor for me because these canister filters are not cheep. I always have used the Megnum filter to do the dirty work but wanted to try one of these new style of filters. well, let me tell you this bad boy kicks butt. I have ran this now for over 9 months with no problems and water is crystal all the time. And i picked this one up on sale at my local pet store for $149.95. What a deal after seeing the proof. Love this filter and would buy again in a heart beat!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great customer service & Service recovery!!!

PostedMay 8, 2014
Customer Avatar
DannyG
from Blaine, WA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Small (20g or less)
I purchased a C-220 that I used for about 1.5 years. After that time elapsed I experienced what I thought was a valve block issue. I replaced the valve block and found that the problem was NOT fixed. After placing a call to my local Marineland dealer, it was recommended that I purchase a replacement impeller & seal kit...this did NOT fix the problem either!!!!! Having been fed up and ready to abandon this company forever, I was contacted and offered to be sent a replacement filter for free. Not only was Marineland there when the product failed, but they exceeded my expectations for resolving the issue. Great Work !!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome filter saved my tank

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer Avatar
Sindeon
from Florida, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I have a C360 on my 75 gallon tank. It replaced two hang on back filters that I had before. I can not believe the quality that the tank has looked since I switched to this filter. I also can not believe how silent this filter is. I have the filter less than five feet away from my computer I am at and can not hear it at all. I sometimes when I walk by the tank have to check that its still working because of how quite it is. This combined with how wonderfully clean it has kept my tank, I can not recommend this filter enough. If you are reading this and debating this filter or any other filter ---- GRAB THIS ONE. You will not regret it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The C-220 is a very good filter.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
mar02io
from Simi Valley, CA, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
The only problem is very poor written documentation
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks like screen doors on a submarine

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Paperboy
from Salem, IN 47167, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Small (20g or less)
I love the idea and how attractive the canister is. But it does not seal tight enough and I too had problems with the disconnect not sealing the hoses, I thought I would order a seal kit only to find out they are out of stock, I wonder why. I have other Marine filters that work great just a little messy to service so I purchased c-160 in hopes my children could start servicing their tanks but that won't happen.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from MarinelandBREXConsumer Relations LeadApril 3, 2014
We apologize that you have had an issue with your new filter. This sounds like something Technical Support would be able to help you with, quite easily. We will have someone contact you immediately, via email.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 years and going great

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Francisdegruchy
from Canada
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I've had my c530 now more than 2 years. It replaced an Eheim 2017, about 25 years old, and while a bit noisier, i've grown used to it, but man! this thing has capacity and current! I never need to vacuum the gravel any more! thanks for the high flow!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
TomS1
from Jeffersonville,IN
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I have 3 c 360 and all work great. Changing one tank around and broke the handle valve body. Called Marineland support and everything was good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

With Enough time it will leak all over the floors.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
OnceABeliever
from VA
Aquarium Type:Both
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I had purchased 2 C-360 canisters. After a cleaning or power failures, the pump head will leak through the head. I contact marineland and they sent replacement pumps. But after replacing with the new canisters filter, they continue to leak after 7-8 months. Don't buy these filters if you plan on having a tank longer than a year or if you care about your hard wood floors or carpets. They will leak and Marineland knows it that is why they will sent you a new canister every time you complain because the filter heads are faulty. It is not just me I had a friend buy one and the same happened to him!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer beware... do not buy this filter

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
GregW
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
I"m going to have to just go buy a different brand. This filter out of the box does not work. It blows micro bubbles into the tank and after a weekend of re-fitting the tubes etc... I'm done with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This C-360 is the worst filter I have ever purchased!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Edczuch
from Toronto, ON, Canada
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I currently have 7 tanks running, downsized from 12. They range in size from a 150 gal. African Frontosa tank down to 15 gal. guppy tanks. Over the years I have owned many types and sizes of filters. I purchased the Marineland C-360 as additional filter for my 90 gal South American tank. What a mistake! After the first clean it leaked around the handles and anything I tried would not fix this, so i let it sit. After a few weeks I tried it again and got it to seal, great I thought. Wrong. After the second clean I have not been able to get it to seal, so now it just sits there under the tank. So far this has been a big waste of money on a filter that should be more reliable, but after reading the fourm's I can see that I am not alone. Next time I make a purchase like this I will keep my receipt.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A piece of junk

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
davekp
from florida
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
Plagued by unstoppable leaks. Leaks around the motor head, and where the valve block enters the power head. Additionally, the valve block shut-off doesn't fully stop the flow and it leaks badly when doing a canister cleaning. The fact that they provide spare O-rings with the new unit for the valve block says something. They say to replace the filter floss pad every month, yet the web site doesn't list them in parts- so where do you get them?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

C-530

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Efrain
from Winter Garden, FL, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
The C-530 is a beast, before my monthly maintenance I make a water flow test and the C-530 still throwing 8.5 g per minutes, = 510 gph, it's awesome, I thing that the 530 gph is more than the 2 other canister filters in the market that said are for 400 gallons tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>