Marineland Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Marineland
Shop Filters and Skimmers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Marineland C-Series Canister Filters

Marineland C-Series Canister Filters

The revolutionary design of the new Marineland Multi-Stage C-Series Canister Filter forces water to pass through the filter media trays, and not around them. With virtually no bypass, and a three-stage filtration process, only sparkling-clean water can re-circulate into your tank - regardless of size or type of aquarium. The key to this process is our special internal design and three-stage approach that passes the water through a series of specialized filter media. It's a design that delivers the best available technology in mechanical, chemical and biological filtration… and it's a design that is unmatched for capturing particulates.
Average Customer Rating:
3.206 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
12
18 out of 34(53%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
145 Questions | 164 Answers
Customer Reviews for C-Series Canister Filters
Review 1 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Canister Filter

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
WDD5733
from Omaha, NE, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
Just replaced my old Filter with the new Multi-Stage Canister C-360. It's so quite and I had NO problem setting it up. I had to cut the tubing a little so it would fit right, but my tank is SO clear and the only sound you hear is the air pump.. Great Canister filter..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Filet
from Palos, IL
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
Excellent canister, no water bypass meaning everything goes through the filter media, not around it. Very easy to set up, instructions are clear, just make sure to take your time while cutting your hoses to ensure proper startup. The big media trays are a big plus. Great customer service here at Marineland as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

reliable and effective

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
cichlidkeepertool
from kansas city missouri
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
iv waited awhile to write this review i bought a c-530 over a year and a half ago and really put it through its paces. the only bad i can find is what also makes the c-530 so good...its heavy! it holds a lot of filter media and moves a lot of water with no bypass very nice iv since replaced all my other cannister filters from marinlands competitors with a c-360 and a c-160 iv been keeping aquariums since the 80's and these are a blessing with ease of cleaning to how they stabalize your water and keep it clean im happy my tanks are crystal clear and my fish are happy way to go marineland!..and the leaking issue from a few years ago is resolved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this filter C220

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rhema01
from Rockland, Maine
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
I purchased this Canister filter after losing most of my fish... I have 55 gal tank. with a power filter on back.. it just could not handle this tank size, so after researching online about canister filters, I found that this one showed the most promising results, so I purchased the Marineland C220 and within a week my tank was balanced, and water quality has been at PH 7.8 to 8.0 Nitrite 0 ppm, Nitrate is 0 ppm, Ammonia is 0 ppm, which the water Ammonia was 5.0 a week before.. I would recommend this canister filter to everyone... I have had no issues with it at all.. as long as you make sure the hoses are tight. you should not have any leakage problems... I give this an 5 Star Plus rating.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with results

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
jdorris
from Riverside CA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I've gone through a number of canister filters over the years and i have never been satisfied with the quality of the products. After reading a few reviews and watching the videos available on the C-360 I decided this was the filter to try. It works great. I was having problems clearing up my water after a pump failure. This filter cleared it in one day and it has been crystal clear ever since. The one feature of this filter I think puts it a step above the rest is there is no possible way for water to bypass the filtration system. Plus the flow is excellent. I connected this to two bio wheels along with the supplied output tube. I have happy fish again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Filter

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
JT82
from Holland, PA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
This filter keeps the water crystal clear. water flow is great and plants and fish are flourishing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The C-220 is a very good filter.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
mar02io
from Simi Valley, CA, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
The only problem is very poor written documentation
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Leaks like screen doors on a submarine

PostedApril 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Paperboy
from Salem, IN 47167, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Small (20g or less)
I love the idea and how attractive the canister is. But it does not seal tight enough and I too had problems with the disconnect not sealing the hoses, I thought I would order a seal kit only to find out they are out of stock, I wonder why. I have other Marine filters that work great just a little messy to service so I purchased c-160 in hopes my children could start servicing their tanks but that won't happen.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from MarinelandBREXConsumer Relations LeadApril 3, 2014
We apologize that you have had an issue with your new filter. This sounds like something Technical Support would be able to help you with, quite easily. We will have someone contact you immediately, via email.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

2 years and going great

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
Francisdegruchy
from Canada
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I've had my c530 now more than 2 years. It replaced an Eheim 2017, about 25 years old, and while a bit noisier, i've grown used to it, but man! this thing has capacity and current! I never need to vacuum the gravel any more! thanks for the high flow!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great filter

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
TomS1
from Jeffersonville,IN
Aquarium Type:Saltwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I have 3 c 360 and all work great. Changing one tank around and broke the handle valve body. Called Marineland support and everything was good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

With Enough time it will leak all over the floors.

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
OnceABeliever
from VA
Aquarium Type:Both
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I had purchased 2 C-360 canisters. After a cleaning or power failures, the pump head will leak through the head. I contact marineland and they sent replacement pumps. But after replacing with the new canisters filter, they continue to leak after 7-8 months. Don't buy these filters if you plan on having a tank longer than a year or if you care about your hard wood floors or carpets. They will leak and Marineland knows it that is why they will sent you a new canister every time you complain because the filter heads are faulty. It is not just me I had a friend buy one and the same happened to him!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer beware... do not buy this filter

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
GregW
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Mid-Size (20-60g)
I"m going to have to just go buy a different brand. This filter out of the box does not work. It blows micro bubbles into the tank and after a weekend of re-fitting the tubes etc... I'm done with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This C-360 is the worst filter I have ever purchased!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer Avatar
Edczuch
from Toronto, ON, Canada
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I currently have 7 tanks running, downsized from 12. They range in size from a 150 gal. African Frontosa tank down to 15 gal. guppy tanks. Over the years I have owned many types and sizes of filters. I purchased the Marineland C-360 as additional filter for my 90 gal South American tank. What a mistake! After the first clean it leaked around the handles and anything I tried would not fix this, so i let it sit. After a few weeks I tried it again and got it to seal, great I thought. Wrong. After the second clean I have not been able to get it to seal, so now it just sits there under the tank. So far this has been a big waste of money on a filter that should be more reliable, but after reading the fourm's I can see that I am not alone. Next time I make a purchase like this I will keep my receipt.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A piece of junk

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
davekp
from florida
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
Plagued by unstoppable leaks. Leaks around the motor head, and where the valve block enters the power head. Additionally, the valve block shut-off doesn't fully stop the flow and it leaks badly when doing a canister cleaning. The fact that they provide spare O-rings with the new unit for the valve block says something. They say to replace the filter floss pad every month, yet the web site doesn't list them in parts- so where do you get them?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

C-530

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Efrain
from Winter Garden, FL, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
The C-530 is a beast, before my monthly maintenance I make a water flow test and the C-530 still throwing 8.5 g per minutes, = 510 gph, it's awesome, I thing that the 530 gph is more than the 2 other canister filters in the market that said are for 400 gallons tank.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable, leaked while I was on vacation and messed up floors

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Leaky
from Philadelphia
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
This is my second C-360. My first one was great, lasted 4 years before it started leaking. I decided to replace it with the same model. This one started leaking after 3 months. This seems to be a relatively common issue with this product as others seem to have experienced the same issue. If you get one, put it in another bucket just in case starts leaking.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All I use

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
BOSS
from Alberta, Canada
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
These canisters are all I use there the best out there no issues none. Sparkling clear water easy to maintain if stacked right you can not lose...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I don't know since it won't even start pumping water after priming

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
tickedoff1
from surrey bc
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I just got this and after making sure it was put together properly and setting it up I press the primer button and nothing happens. Im returning it if I can't get it going. I want my 200 back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

C-360 Great Filter! Marineland = Great product and great service!

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Breeder
from Chicago, IL, USA
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
I have two C-360 units running on seperate tanks. One is a 30 gal goldfish community and the other is a 98 gal custom arylic angelfish tank. Both filters have worked impressively for some time. I had a Rena canister before my last C-360, and it was a horrible experience. Rena had poor customer service when their filter was sucking in air through a seal within a week of running it. Marineland has stuck by their product though. I called Marineland customer service today due to a leaky valve that occured from heavy wear and tear, and the sent my a new main component for one of my C-360 units to fix the problem. I'm impressed! I will not stray away from Marineland again. In fact, I'm even thinking about upgrading a tank setup in the next year, and I know that I'll be buying a Marineland when the time comes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for C-Series Canister Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cost, functionability, ease of cleaning & maintance with excellant performance at a very reasonable cost.

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
CuCulaine
from Sarnia, ON, Canada
Aquarium Type:Freshwater
Aquarium Size:Large (60g+)
Cost, function ability, ease of cleaning & maintaince with excellent performance at a very reasonable cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>